About the region

  • 986 506 residents
  • area – 9 412 km2
  • >5 000 ha of available investment sites
  • working age population – 65%

The Opolskie Region is situated in the south-western part of Poland. It borders on four Polish voivodeships: Dolnośląskie, Wielkopolskie, Łódzkie and Śląskie and, in the south, on two Czech regions – the Olomouc and the Moravian-Silesian Regions.

The voivodeship’s capital is Opole and its major towns include, among others, Kędzierzyn-Koźle, Nysa, Brzeg, Kluczbork, Prudnik, Strzelce Opolskie, Namysłów, Krapkowice, Głuchołazy, Głubczyce and Zdzieszowice.

The Opolskie Voivodeship is admired for its diversity, multiculturalism and harmony in which people of different origins, cultures, faiths and – at one time separate – languages ​​coexist, live and grow. The region’s towns enchant their visitors with restored market squares, historic tenement houses or manor houses, which, as top-class hotels, await guests from all over the world. The regional cuisine, full of the Silesian tradition, intricately mixed with different, former Polish eastern borderland flavours, is a culinary masterpiece. The strong ties of the voivodeship’s residents with their region represent an extraordinary strength and distinguish it from other voivodeships. Thanks to the richness of its landscape and the beautiful historic buildings, the Opolskie voivodeship is a place on the map of Poland and Europe that is worth becoming familiar with, visiting and returning to.

The region has many assets, one of the most important of which is its very convenient location on the route of important road and railway transport lines as well as on the Odra River waterway route. The voivodeship is proud of a well-developed road network, including the A4 motorway running through the entire region.